All is now set for Nigeria to host the 2023 AAEW, in collaboration with the African Forum for Agricultural Advisory Services (AFAAS), the continental body, established by AUC to bring together National Agricultural Extension and Advisory Services (AEAS) stakeholders in Africa under one umbrella.

Dateline is November 2023…

Venue is Abuja…

The 6th AAEW will be hosted by the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development (FMARD).

Keep the Date and Event in Mind.



The Programme Contents are:

  • Plenary sessions for continental dialogues
  • Paper presentations
  • Side events
  • Exhibitions
  • Field trips
  • And lots more

Key participants in the AAEW will include:

  • AEAS providers from public (Ministry of Agriculture officials, especially Directors of Extension from AFAAS member and non-member countries),
  • Farmer-based organisations, farmers, nongovernment organisations (NGOs) and institutions and programmes actively involved in agricultural and rural development;
  • Private sectors (e.g. telecommunications companies, agro-processors, financial institutions, the media, insurance companies, commercial farmers etc)
  • Selected groups from the Nigerian Agricultural research and extension systems (NARIs, Universities, ADPs, professional associations)

AFAAS mandate is to accelerate the achievement of the CAADP goals. In this regards, therefore, AFAAS biannually organises the Africa-wide Agricultural Extension Week (AAEW) through the Host Countries and Institutions that express interest in collaboration with the respective Country Fora (CFs). The AFAAS CF for Nigeria is the Nigerian Forum for Agricultural Advisory Services (NIFAAS).

The Africa-Wide Agricultural Extension Week (AAEW) is a continental event that brings together AEAS providers and other value chain actors across Africa and globally to deliberate on selected strategic and topical themes on AEAS for sustainable development in Africa. Beyond thematic debates, the AAEW is a unique avenue for sharing experiences and learning among professionals from different backgrounds, strengthening interactions with policymakers and investors and developing fruitful partnerships. The AAEW is also a platform for deliberating on new developments, emerging needs in capacity development and defining strategic direction in AEAS for the coming years.

The first AAEW was held in Gaborone (Botswana) in 2013; the second was in Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) in 2015; the third in Durban (South Africa) in 2017; the fourth in Abidjan (Cote d’Ivoire) in 2019 and the fifth in Kampala (Uganda) in 2021. During the 5th AAEW that took place from 14th to 20th November 2021, at Speke Resort Munyonyo, Kampala, a General Assembly was held and Nigeria was unanimously elected to host the 6th AAEW.

Consequently, early in 2022, the Honorable Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development in Nigeria, formerly accepted the offer on behalf of Nigeria to host the continental event based on the premise that it will greatly increase the profile of AEAS as well as enhance the functions of AEAS in the country in particular and the continent at large.

For more information, contact: